Q1: describe an event that happened in the history, and explain why you want to learn more about the event.

Due to poverty, illegal events have become more prevalent nowadays. In order to lessen the crimes, some believed that prison sentences should be prolonged, however a few people said that there are other solutions to prevent crimes. To start, one of the main reasons why criminals are put behind bars is to help them reflect on their faults and wrongdoings. The jail has become the centre for correcting their acts as it serves as rehabilitation centres. When criminals get out of jail after the sentence has been served, there is a low percentage that they will commit illegal things again, because of the fear of going to jail the second time. When thieves, for example are not taught the lesson of being put to jail, they will just have a positive notion that what they are doing is socially accepted. Thus, the law enforcers should pursue sentencing of crimes to create fear and doubts among criminals before doing such. In contrast to the first idea, there is a huge part of the population believing there are alternative ways to stop the illegal activities. As young as teenagers must have proper education about illegal activities and its corresponding consequences. With proper knowledge, individuals would be able to weigh things ethically, and they would do activities that will be more beneficial to the society. In Davao City, Philippines, for instance, a lot of seminars about drugs have been conducted to the youth, and now, the place has been known to be a drug-free city for quite a long time now. Hence, adequate information would help the public to think and act to better the society. In conclusion, aside from extending prison sentences for crimes committed, other alternative ways might also be considered to correct the behaviours of illegal doers. Enforcing such ways to fight activities against crime should be ensured to be able to create a sense of fear among criminals not to do otherwise.