Psycologist have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people's health and capacity for work?

Every individual has unique preferences for colours. For many years now, psychiatrists know, how colours can influence human emotions. Due to this reason, offices and healthcare centres should be carefully adorned. This essay will discuss why the above statements are true and also the extent to which one's health, as well as the productivity of an employee in an environment gets affected. Various scientific research has proved that colours can modify human behaviour. People of different age groups, health issues, and occupations can react differently for a given colour. Children usually love attractive colours like red, pink as well as green, which brightens their mood. However, a mentally retarded person might show totally unexpected behaviour for the previously mentioned colours. Furthermore, some employees not only prefer to perform in environments which have white interiors but also tend to avoid brightly coloured rooms. Admittedly, colours do govern the human emotions, thus focus must be given while garnishing schools, hospitals and firms, so that people are not adversely impacted. To a noticeable level, colours can regulate the health and workmanship of a person. When colours create disturbing ambience, employees automatically get distracted, thus resulting in performance decline. Moreover, dark coloured instruments and walls induce stress and vision related concerns in some workers. For example, a recent survey shows that people who spend most of their working hours exposed to a dark coloured atmosphere are likely to have eyesight issues when compared to those workers who work in places which are occupied by lightly coloured surroundings. Although, people are not majorly affected, colours do play its role in the overall well-being and work performance of an individual to a certain extent. To conclude, some people are very sensitive to colours. So, public places and work areas needs a wise furnishing.