Schools should cut out music to focus on subjects such as information technology.

Some believe that art and music should be removed from the syllabus of education to enable young students to concentrate on more valuable materials, namely, information technology. In my opinion, I disagree because although other subjects are crucial to learning, music is significant in shaping and nurturing creativity. Education should aim at equipping children of today with knowledge and skills to be able to compete with the future’s challenges. This is because the world never cease developing, and the same goes for the educational materials in continuous relentless evolving. For example, the introduction of the computer sciences as a compulsory course in Finland’s elementary schools aimed at bringing about their future generation with ample expertise in dealing with technology. Thus, if the period requires different materials, the learning process would change to cope with it. However, art is not only an integral part of any civilization, but also an indispensable subject. If world devoid art, then we would be living in a concrete community. Moreover, schools should not eliminate art because it supplements other topics, rejuvenates spirits, and ignites creativity. For instance, many students would have the opportunity to learn about music in school, which may motivate them to pursue a career in it. Therefore, although time is consumed to hone skills in spiritual courses such as music, they enrich mental abilities and complete the objective of other classes at another level. In conclusion, giving priority to other mundane courses over spiritual ones is a moot issue. I disagree with the notion if education syllabus is excluded from art courses, children would be deprived of the opportunity of discovering their innate talents and the possibilities that may provide.