"Prevention is better than cure. "Out of country's health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventive measures.

There is a saying goes “Prevention is better than cure”. Many people argue that the government should spent a great portion of a country’s health budget on health education programs and preventative measures than on treatment. This is countered against the idea of some people that a large portion of health budget should be spent on medical treatment and facilities. To a certain extent, I agree that more resources should be spent on health education programs and preventative measures. First and foremost, I could not agree more that prevention is definitely better than cure. Nowadays, there are many influenzas and fatal diseases occurred around the world. It is important that government spends more public money on health education programs and preventative measures. The health education programs can be included in the syllabus of the subjects of primary and secondary schools by teaching the students to pick up the habit of washing hands before eating. For instance, the steps of washing hands can be listed on a board and place the board around the schools. In addition, if more money is spent on medical research, more vaccines can be invented to prevent the infection of fatal diseases. For instance, females are encouraged to get the HPV vaccines from hospitals to prevent fatal diseases. In Malaysia, the most popular disease is dengue fever which can take away one’s life. Thus, the government educates the public to remove the water of the flower pot so as to reduce the breeding place of mosquitoes. There are even advertisements being published through multimedia such as television and radio on ways to prevent dengue fever. The counter-argument is that government should not divert the budget on treatment to health education programs and preventative measures. Many people believe that the money spent on medical treatment is important to the welfare of society. They argue that health education programs and preventative measures could not totally prevent the society from infected diseases. For instance, when a person infected H1N1, there was no prevention for other people. In conclusion, I personally think that both treatment and health education and preventative measures are important to the social welfare. It is the government to make a balance between medical treatment and preventative measures due to the financial constraint. It is good to spend some money on health education and preventative measures so that the society could immune some, but not all fatal diseases.