"Fatherhood ought to be emphasized as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing up their children. "

There is hotly debated issue which discussed fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The discussion is mainly about the role of a father and a mother to their offspring. Some people argue that a dad should play an equally important role as a mom plays. This idea is against the argument that women should take the responsibility to bring up and nurture the children if they are the one to decide whether to have babies. First and foremost, I agree that fatherhood should be emphasised as much as motherhood as both parties have different roles to play in rearing up their children. From my point of view, a father is a tough character in which he has to work to make ends meet, he is the bread winner of the family. In other words, he can also be described as the backbone of the family. Therefore, it is important that a father should demonstrate his tough characteristic to the children so that the children understand they have to put effort to make hard earned money. The value of life is important to children especially when they are growing up so that they would make lesser mistakes in their life. As for the motherhood, the role played by a mother should be to show more care to her children. In the past, a mother was characterised as a person who take care of her home and cook for the family members. Although there is a change in today’s world where many mothers work during the day time, the role portrayed in the past should be played. However, it cannot be assumed that mother has the sole responsibility to her children. When a mother is willing to sacrifice her time and beauty to give birth, a father should treasure her sacrifice and take up the responsibility to rear the children. The environment of where the child is bringing up is important to his or her physical and mental development. Thus, fatherhood and motherhood should be equally emphasised. It is surprising to notice that people always have a great celebration on Mother’s Day than on Father’s Day even though a father works hard to make money in order to cover the daily expenditures of a household. In my opinion, the purpose of having celebration for Parent’s Day is to recognize their contribution and their roles and responsibility to the family. It is important to give recognition to their devotion of time to the family. I have to confess that both of the parents are the role models to their children in which one is a tough character and the other one is a soft and loving character. To sum up, I totally agree that fatherhood is as equally important as motherhood and thus, they should be emphasised. It is not fair for a mother to have sole responsibility to nurture her children even though she might be the one to decide on having babies. The roles of a father and a mother can have a prolong effect on the mindset of a child. It is said that parents are the mirrors if the children and a good child is nurtured by parents with love and care.