“Prevention is better than cure”. Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures.

Proper treatment of diseases can be an expensive process; therefore, taking precautions before disease progression seems like the cheaper alternative. This essay agrees that taking precautions is beneficial than treating the disease after occurrence. Long standing immunization has been a turning point in the medical history that is considered primary prevention and prevention is a less aggressive to other treatment options. Immunization, the modern miracle in health care, has become the best disease prevention method. Healthcare professionals are encouraging everyone to receive their mandatory vaccines in order to prevent most of the infectious diseases and it has been very successful in combating most of the diseases. If these vaccines were not available, it would cost a huge a sum of money to treat diseases like polio as these are disabling disorders and would require routine tests. For example, Health Canada, the major health governing body in Canada, published that vaccines cut the annual health care cost by 2 million dollars as many patients do not require constant surveillance. Preventative actions are also better in terms of its aggressiveness. Serious consequences can be observed in major medications and should be avoided if possible while simple preventative measures would not have any significant side effects. A person can take a simple example to demonstrate this idea. Blood thinning medications for heart diseases can cause significant bleeding if a patient has a cut; however, walking 45 minutes a day is equally protective for heart diseases and has minimal side effects. In my opinion, taking precautions for diseases are better in terms of tackling the health care costs. In conclusion, immunization has significantly reduced the health care burden which proves the effectiveness of primary prevention and primary prevention has minimal side effects as oppose to the actual disease.