Popular hobbies and interest change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals want to do in their spare time.

It is true that people's hobbies and interests change according with latest trends and fashions. People are following these hobbies and interests for popularity, not for personal pleasure. To certain extent, I agree that people change their hobbies and interests with their passion. On the one hand, many people change their hobbies for popularity purpose. In other words, people follow and do activities to show that they exist and are up to date with latest trends. However, in reality they do not really have passion for these activities. For instance, photography has become popular activity in India. Many people are following it. While some them are doing it for their passion and interest in the photography where as others are doing it to show that they are updated with the trend and to receive the attraction of people by showing the latest model of a camera. On the other hand, other people start following latest hobbies and interest because of the fact that they like these new activities. These new hobbies might be the latest trend; therefore, no one was doing these in the past. In addition to this, people may find these activities interesting and might start getting passionate about it. In conclusion, is it fact that sometimes people change their hobbies and interests. To certain extent, I agree that people change their hobbies due to the recent trend, but there are others who change their interest due to they like the new activity. I personally believe that hobby is a personal matter and anyone should not follow what is popular in public.