Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time.

Some leisure time activities become fashionable for a very short time and then disappear when new trendy one comes, whereas others seem to be popular permanently. I can therefore only partly agree with that hobbies reflect changing fashions rather than our true interest. On the one hand, it is true that many hobbies are simply passing trends. Especially children and teenagers get attracted to what is popular currently among their peers easily. For example, my nephew who is 10 years old boy is always crazy with what his peers are into. A year ago, most of the boys in his classroom started to go football class on weekends, and he also insisted on his family to go to football class. Later, some of his friends started to lose interest in football class, they wanted to do something else, and my nephew also changed his mind and gave up going football class even if his parents paid the monthly fee. Now, he wants to sign up for guitar course, because his close friend bought a guitar and decided to go guitar course. Beside it is not just children and teenagers. Even adults can act in the same way sometimes. There have been several fitness trends for adults over 20 years, from yoga to pilates, and I doubt whether the majority of the participants kept on doing those activities in the long term. On the other hand, many people spend their free time doing popular activities that are not trendy. One good example would be the chess game. Children and adults who enjoy playing chess are certainly not following a new fashion trend and wasting their time for a trendy game that they don't really enjoy. On the contrary, they are passionate about a game that has been existed for a long time. I would say the same for some of my hobbies, such as watching film, listening music. These are practicing for a long while, and they are not trendy now. In summary, even if it is true for some people that they spend their free times with popular hobbies that they are not keen on exactly, there are many long standing hobbies that are dealt by true enthusiasts.