Poor students or students who come from rural areas often find it is difficult to get access to the university education, so some people think universities should make it easier for them to study at.

It is believed that students who come from a low-income family background or remote areas find some difficulties in continuing their undergraduate and graduate studies, therefore it is suggested that college and universities should provide special pathways for them. To a certain point, I would agree with the statement, but there should be additional requirements that these students must fulfil and the following essay will discuss it in details. On the one hand, many students who come from a poor family or live in a rural area found some difficulties in entering universities. It is mostly due to the low quality of secondary education. The low-class students could only enrol to low-quality schools, while for those who live in remote areas, they are taught by junior teachers, who are still gaining some teaching experiences. As a result, they could not get the maximum quality education that they should get, and could not compete with other students when they participate in the registration test for entering universities. Therefore, it is suggested that post-secondary institutions should allocate some seats and provide some subsidy for them. However, despite the special pathways, the institutions should provide some entry tests and academic background checking for these students. Universities must ensure that these students have some potential and eagerness to learn, and they have good academic scores in their secondary school studies, therefore the allocated seats and subsidised funds would not be a waste. This filter is a must since many of these students are entering universities but they are serious about learning and studying. In conclusion, it is a fact that students from low economy background or live in rural areas find difficulties in entering post-secondary schools. Many people suggested that these institutions should give special pathways for them. I do agree with the statement, but some test should be given to these students, therefore only those who are serious in studying will be enrolled.