Plants can provide food, shelter, clothing, or medicine. What is one kind of plant that is important to you or the people in your country?

Plants play a very important role in our everyday life and our very existence depends on the oxygen we breathe which is produced by the plants. They give us oxygen, provide different medicines, clothing and food. Every country has its own staple food that dominates in the diet of dwellers of that country. For example, the staple food for Japan and Korea is rice. As for me, I am from Russia and our staple plants are potato and wheat. Some people in my country believe that wheat is the most important plant because it provides full and nutritious meals. People bake bread and cookies, cook kasha and soup. At old times people in Russia raised wheat and prayed for the good harvest in order to survive. Millet has a good storage time so it gives the opportunity to consume it a whole year. Thus this was an important plant in my country for a long. However, nowadays bread is no longer of that importance. A person has more products to choose from. Besides, some people tend to exclude bread from their diet in order to decrease their daily calorie intake and lose some weight. Personally, I think that potato is a more important plant than wheat in Russia and this is the kind of plant I like the most due to its extensive usefulness and our reliance on it. Virtually, every Russian has potato every day at least once. One can boil, fry, bake or mash it. My favourite meal is baked potato with cheese and a glass of milk. I think it is delicious and it does not take much time to cook it. Moreover, potatoes are easier to raise and store. To conclude, I think that potato by far is the most important plant in Russia and this is why I consider it as the most important plant in my country and also for the Russian people.