Teachers in different countries get different payments and many people say that teachers should be paid according to how much their students learn.

The education sector in a country is quite important and different policies are taken by the authority to enhance the quality of education. One such policy suggested by some is that teachers' payment should be based on the scale of students' learning. This might sound an alluring idea, but I personally disagree with it. To begin with, theoretically, the policy of paying a teacher based on how much his students actually learn is quite a good one. But the practical aspect is quite different as it is almost impossible to accurately judge the level of students learning curve taught by a teacher. For instance, some students perform quite brilliantly in a class while others even fail to grasp the basic concepts. This can be seen even in a single classroom where the same teachers are teaching those students. Moreover, this policy would create an outburst and dissatisfaction among the teachers and would actually decline their motivation. Not to mention, this would actually decline the education and teaching quality which is not at all desirable. Another key thing to remember is that teaching profession is already failing to attract talented individuals as they opt to more attractive salary offered by other professions. If payment based on students learning curve is considered, it would make it an even less attractive profession. On contrary to this policy, more training, motivations, monitoring teaching styles of teachers and then counselling, student feedback on teachers could be better alternatives. To conclude, teachers' role, in a country, is very important and no policy that might be detrimental for their motivation or for the educational setup should be launched.