There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays.

Music is an all-encompassing art that cuts across wide demography and geography. There are, indeed, many styles or classifications of music broadly defined in terms of genres that people compose or listen to across the globe. While there are many types of musical forms in existence, there are even many reasons why people stick to or enjoy certain styles of music. Firstly, a majority of musical enthusiasts gets an emotional release listening to a distinctive style of musical notes or beats from a certain instrument(s). From traditional percussion to modern electronic musical instruments, there are billions of variations in the sounds produced and used from them in the form of symphonies, compositions or songs to name a few. Listening to such music has been often a cathartic experience to swallow down or vent out emotions. Secondly, music is an instrument that amplifies any form of celebration or festivity. It is considered to fill the lives of people with optimism and elation. There are maestros or popular artists, like Beethoven and Bob Dylan, who dedicated their entire lives to producing masterpieces to be enjoyed and admired by music buffs. Lastly, the commercial aspect of music creation. Musicians earn billions of dollars by selling their works in the form of records, CDs, live performances or music for movies, to begin with. Music transcends not only mental boundaries, but also physical borders. In this digital age, people of a small village in an Asian country could listen to Western Jazz music over international radio channels. However, it does not mean traditional music is less significant. Traditional music usually holds a cultural identity along with it and its such defining marker that usually brings forth a tribe or a race to prominence in the global world. Many individuals or groups attempt to preserve such communities to keep such music alive.