Planting trees is very important. some people says that trees should be planted in the vacant areas of cities and town, while others says that housing facilities should be build instead.

To plant trees in the community is essential and a few people opined that trees should be planted in areas of cities and town that are not occupied. However, others suggest that housing facilities should be constructed rather than the planting of trees. I disagree with this opinion because trees can help regulate the atmosphere while building of houses increases congestion in an environment. Firstly, when houses are constructed on vacant sites in the urban areas, they tend to congest such vicinities and prevent adequate fresh air from circulating. Developing shelters can also mean more population in the vicinity and this can result in different types of pollution such as air pollution and noise pollution. For example, more residential buildings mean more people will reside in the community and engage it activities that may pollute the vicinity. Furthermore, trees have been found to keep the earth cool by controlling and regulating the degree of hotness from the sun and as a result of this, prevents global warming. Also, trees have been found to beautify the environment. The presence of trees in an area creates serenity and beauty to such places. Because of this, people can sit or rest under trees peacefully. For instance, people are seen having picnics at Ikeja way were several trees are planted and they do so because of the serenity and peacefulness it brings. In conclusion, instead of constructing houses on empty sites in urban communities, it is better to plant trees so as to shade the residents against the hot sun and also provide them with quietness and peacefulness.