Many people believe that money is a good gift for a teenager while others disagree.

It is commonly believed by many that the youngsters should have a freedom to choose their gift by themselves due to their awareness of modern electronic gadgets. However, others tend to oppose this idea and consider that giving money to children can provoke them to buy nonessential items. In my opinion, money is essentially a best gift as long as it is used under the strict supervision of parents. One evident reason which makes people feel that teenagers should decide their gifts by themselves is their knowledge about the technology. In other words, children have a different taste in buying their gifts because they have access to the modern internet where they can learn about latest technologies such as digital games and modern inventions which most of the old people are unaware of. As a result, a vast majority of teenagers dislike the gifts bought by their parents. For instance, according to a research conducted by the University of British Columbia, a child prefers a digital watch as a birthday gift over a manual watch. Thus, people should let the child buy their presents by themselves. Nevertheless, some people opine that money is harmful to the children and therefore it should not be given into their hands. The reason being, children can use it for illegal activities such as to purchase drugs or in gambling, which will eventually ruin their career. To exemplify, a vast majority of children start consuming drugs due to the negligence of their parents, which means parents do not supervise the spending of their child until it becomes a permanent habit. Furthermore, the gift represents the special bond between the giver and the taker, and it can not be replaced with the materialistic entity. For example, my brother gifted me a phone on my graduation and it always reminds me about him whenever I am using it. To conclude, money is not harmful for children as long as its flow is visible to the parents and therefore parents should consider letting their children choose their gifts according to their taste and knowledge.