People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work?

I think there are two types of people who do a job. The first types of people work for money primarily, and another type of people work for self-realization, to use their skills. I state my position on the following points. First of all, people who work for self-realization like their job. Money is not important for them, they need satisfaction. I believe that this kind of people makes our evolution and history. They aspire after new inventions and discoveries overcoming all obstacles in their ways. I think that these people are very interesting because they know a lot, read many books and have their own life experience. Of course, they need money for some essential needs such as food and cloth, but they do not need them for luxury houses or expensive furnishings. Many scientists are people who devote their lives to new knowledge and discoveries. There are pieces of evidence of lots of opulent inventors and scientist who loves their work more than anything else and have devoted their lives to the work they loved. Their primary reason for working was their passion for the work. Second of all, I believe that people need self-realization. It gives them the opportunity to contribute in world's history and share their knowledge and experience with other people. I think it helps them to realise that they are needed by humankind and will not be forgotten. This is priceless. To sum up, I think that people's aspiration after self-realization is the main reason why we have now good medicine, different means of communications, many devices to make our lives easier, etc.