People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work?

First of all, self-contentment and self-realization are two important factors people work even though they have sufficient money. These kinds of people work to invent something new and try to satisfy their unquenchable thrust for knowledge. Their curiosity, hard work and talent drive them to invent something new that helps millions of others throughout the ages. Scientists, artists, mathematicians, astronomers and explorers throughout the history have done so to make this world a better place. No doubt some of them had personal ambitions, but self-contentment and curiosity were the main driving forces for them to work hard. Second, saving for the future, both for their old age and for the future generation, is another reason people work. Someone who has a lot of money cannot guarantee that it will remain the same for ages. Thus many people work to save for the rainy days and the make sure that their future generation will have better standards of life. Further working on something that we enjoy ensures far more quality time than being idle. Thus many of us work because we enjoy what we do. Money is not the primary motivation for working in this case. Finally, doing something better or helping other is another important reason many of us work. If we look back in the history, we will find numerous famous people who left their conform zone and worked for the betterment of others. They were selfless people who could have easily accumulated wealth but instead they have vowed to help others. In conclusion, self-contentment, curiosity and selflessness of many are the three important reasons we have a different world than we had in the primitive ages. Some people work to save for the future while others to help others and to fulfil self-realizations.