People who live in large cities face a range of problems in their daily life. What are the main problems people in cities face, and how can these problems be tackled?

It is commonplace in various parts of the world that an increasing number of people prefer to live in metropolitan areas for higher living standards. However, along with that, there emerge manifold problems that adversely affect such people in their diurnal life; and drastic measures should be taken to mitigate the consequences of such problems. One of the most conspicuous issues is overpopulation. Owing to the presence of numerous welfare merits regarding education, medical care and business in big cities, a vast number of people choose to migrate from rural areas to more developed ones, a trend that is also known as urbanization. This trend causes urban areas to become increasingly crammed, and, as a result, a great deal of issues therefrom are provoked, such as homelessness, traffic congestion, and higher crime rates. To combat those challenges, governments should consider long-term strategies to move city residents to less packed locations. A feasible option is to either build new satellite towns or enlarge metropolises by merging them with the suburbs or contiguous cities and relocate some universities, recreational centers, shopping malls, sports centers, and low-cost residential neighborhoods to such areas. Another deleterious feature that surrounds urbanites is air pollution. This primarily derives from their domestic activities that continually introduce harmful contaminants into the air, indirectly causing a range of respiratory health problems. For example, in keeping with the substantial numbers of citizens in cities, there remains excessive use of private vehicles, whereby emissions are extensively released into the atmosphere. To tackle this, there should be improvements in public transport systems to encourage more people to use it. In addition, it is essential that more trees be planted to absorb carbon dioxide and filter the air. To conclude, notwithstanding the undeniable benefits that city life offers, urbanites are encountering various troubles. Accordingly, governments need to take action to deal with them.