Social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are observed to have more negative effects than positive being more useful for the criminals than others with this statement

Environmental degradation is one of the most alarming issues facing today’s world and has garnered much public attention. While some people agree with the idea that individual effort is futile, I strongly believe saving our planet should be the responsibility of not only the governments but also individuals. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that resolving some complex global issues definitely requires substantial resources and various advanced technologies. In other words, the intervention from the governments and large companies is of paramount importance. For instance, China has recently constructed a tower operating as an air purifier that can run on solar energy, which helps improve air quality significantly. Furthermore, only the authorities have the power to pass laws aimed at protecting the environment against public and private harms. Without these laws, there would hardly be any dramatic improvements in environmental conditions. On the other hand, I believe individual awareness and actions are the key factors contributing to positive environmental changes. Firstly, there is a limited extent to what politicians can accomplish on their own. Without collaboration from ordinary citizens, the politicians can hardly alone tackle environmental issues effectively. For example, they cannot prevent the citizens from wasting electricity or leaving the taps running in their private houses. Secondly, there are several steps individuals can take to protect the ecosystem. For instance, by taking public transport instead of driving, people can reduce greenhouse gas emissions that pose a threat to life on Earth. In addition, consumers can substitute cloth bags for the plastic ones when shopping to minimize plastic pollution. In conclusion, I firmly believe conserving the environment is everyone’s moral duty. Therefore, it is imperative that the governments and individuals make joint efforts to tackle this problem as soon as possible.