People today spend too much tie on personal enjoyment--doing things they like to do--rather than doing things they should do.

The inclusion of various extra-curricular activities in the school curriculum has been a topic of discussion since time immemorial. One such topic is to teach kids how to grow and cook their own food. I am a strong advocate of this approach and this essay highlights my reasons for the same in more detail. To begin with, cooking is an essential skill that is beneficial to us throughout our life. Furthermore, research suggests that children’s minds are capable to grasp and learn things more efficiently during their formative years. Developing this practice early on, prepares them to take better care of themselves in their adult life. For example, if they move abroad to study or choose to live by themselves in the future, cooking is a talent that will always prove to be helpful for their own good. In addition to this, involving kids in practical knowledge instead of theory gives them a hands-on experience in the topic of study. Instead of teaching them names of fruits and vegetables in a classroom, they can be taught to plant seeds outdoors, so that they are more engaged in the entire process. This gives them a better understanding of the importance of our eco-system. In fact, studies have proven that kids that were involved in practical projects performed better than those who solely underwent a theoretical based approach. To conclude, children should be taught how to grow and cook some food for the very reason that it will help them gain better insights on nature and nutrition at the same time prepare them to add an additional accomplishment to their skillset.