People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individually and on society?

Nowadays, sleeping patterns of people have changed significantly over the yeards. It is generally considered that the increasing rate of stress that people are these days facing is a major factor of the reason people is sleeping less than their ancestors. Hence, it is causing a major impact not only on a personal level, but also on the society. To begin with, the competition and the hectic lifestyle of the modern society requires from people to be more attentive and aggressive than before. In other words, people of this generation feel pressured and are in a constant race with time to fulfill their basic needs in addition to achieve their personal and career goals. It is therefore thought that not sleeping will give them more time. For instance, Orient News published a recent statistic showing that 20 percent more adults aging between 28 and 35 bring their work to home, which result to sleeping less. However, this phenomenon has serious consequences on the well-being health and the community. To state this fact in different words, to be deprived from sleep or not having enough sleep may lead to severe heath problems such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, and high blood pressure. Also, lack of sleeping can cause mental problems especially depression. Consequently, all of these physical and mental disorders will gradually effect the economy negatively. In conclusion, to maintain a healthy lifestyle and to be more productive in a society people should learn how to balance their work life, ambitions and personal life.