People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effects does it have on individuals and society?

In many countries around the globe, people are unable to sleep for an adequate number of hours. This phenomenon is predominantly owing to the workload faced by the majority of the population. Consequently, there are some ramifications on individuals and on society. People are not able to sleep for longer hours than they used to because there are engaged in excessive workload from multiple jobs. People, nowadays, are required to perform multiple jobs to meet their living expenses, which take some part of the night to perform them. For example, to cover my study debt, I used to work for multiple jobs when I was in Dubai. Doing this, I usually end sleeping for three to four hours. There are only 24 hours a day, and if we spent most of it working, we would not be able to sleep for remaining hours. This trend could have negative consequences for individuals and society. With regards to the latter, people will witness weaker health. When a person sleeps less, his/her body will not be able to fully recover; as a result, he/she will be predisposed to a myriad of diseases. For example, a research conducted by Punjab Medical College showed that sleeping less will make the immune system weaker, rendering the person vulnerable to several fatal diseases. Moreover, the habit of having more work and sleeping less will convert society into disaggregated units where people cannot socialise fully. This trend can be witnessed in Western countries where people of all ages prefer to surf time on social websites instead of meeting with their friends individually. To conclude, the trend of sleeping less is because of the extra work pressure which this generation has. This trend is making people prone to a plethora of diseases and impeding them from spending time with their loved ones.