People say that music is a good way of bringing people of different ages and cultures together.

There is currently a contentious argument over whether people of varying traditions and ages could be united through music in a satisfactory manner. Although there are explanations on both sides, I strongly agree that music has a positive influence to achieve these aims because it enables unity and it breaks cultural barriers. Critics of this view assert that tribalism continues to spread despite the popularity of music. A case in point is the xenophobic attacks of Nigerians living in South Africa even though the Artists of these two countries preach cultural tolerance in their music. They also opine that the elderly and the young listen to completely different genres of music. So, ”how can this unite them”? they say. However, I would argue that musicians tend to harmonize people irrespective of age. They appear to let go of their predicaments when this adventure is played not minding their indifferences. A particularly good example is the annual Headies, a music award, where individuals of varying ages, gender, customs are in attendance. As a result, the generational gap is reduced and both the younger and older generation can mingle together. Moreover, should people embrace this artwork, I feel cultural differences would be eliminated. This is because music does not have to be fully understood to pass a message. To illustrate, Fela Kuti, who was a famous Nigerian artist, was invited to perform in Texas in 2000. This particular move broke the jinx between the two countries. Thus, if this work of Art is wholly embraced, it has a tremendous role to play in achieving world peace. In conclusion, even though people have contrary opinions, I completely agree that music can promote harmony and stop cultural discriminations. Only by embracing this precious work of Art can life become worthwhile.