People remember special gifts or presents that they have received. Why? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Environment protection has always been a moot topic. For their own benefits, humans are damaging the environment on a large scale. To conserve the natural resources of the country, the government should come up with certain measures. In addition to this, individuals should also protect their surroundings by not misusing the resources. Natural resources like air, water, oil, wood are being exploited by humans for their own interest. Human activities are one of the major contributors to air pollution. The carbon dioxide emitted by vehicles harms the air. Moreover, the organizations release harmful gases in the habitat, which makes the air hazardous for humankind. Other ways are burning of crackers and fossil fuels and indoor activities like painting supplies, which emit toxic chemicals. Furthermore, people contaminate the water bodies as well. Factories discharge their waste into water bodies. Moreover, there are individuals who dump rubbish in inappropriate places, such as the rivers, which makes rivers toxic to marine life and eventually kill them. To fight from the harmful measures of mankind, the government should impose heavy penalties. To exemplify this, the government has banned the digging of water tanks to avoid the misuse of ground water. Another recent measure taken by the government is banning crackers. Another way is to improve public transportations. Reliable and clean public transports will encourage people to use them, instead of using private cars. We, as an individual should also take part in protecting the environment. Firstly, by discouraging deforestation. One should plant more trees to promote cleaner surroundings. Secondly, individuals should reduce household waste. For instance, people can use cloth-made-bags instead of plastic-made-bags when shopping. Thirdly, people should use more public transportation and if possible, walk more. To sum up, people damage the environment with the high usage of private cars and industrial waste, and by throwing rubbish. The Government can solve these problems by imposing penalties and enhancing public transport system. Individuals can also help by lessening their household waste and travelling by mass transports and walking.