People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming communities, what are the possible causes and solutions?

It is true that neighbours do not mingle with themselves and it is destroying the society. There are several reasons for this trend, such as an increase in the level of insecurity and people busy work schedules. However, the government and the community can take certain measures to curb this problem. The main reason why people do not interact with people living in the same vicinity is due to an increase in criminal activities within their environment. The growing rate of insecurity has led to erection of large barriers, such as high fences and gates between houses in a bid to protect themselves better; however, it makes it difficult for people to look out for their neighbour’s welfare. For instance, the residents of Kings Court estate revealed that the high barriers surrounding their homes were designed to protect their lives and properties from robbers, but it prevents them from taking care of others people belongings. In addition, people are occupied with busy work schedules. Many individual spend a lot of time at work, which hinders them from mingling with their neighbours at home. The government can tackle the lack of relationship by improving security measures within residential areas. The provision of constant security patrol teams within the neighbourhood will allow residents feel more secure and demolish their high fences. In addition, the community should organise neighbourhood activities, which will encourage people socialize and mingle better. For example, In 2015. The Mayflower estate organise a year-end party as a platform to introduce its entire resident and encourage business networking amongst them. This gathering led to better communal relationship within the estate. In conclusion, people do not relate to an individual living in the same environment and it is destroying communal bond. There are various factors responsible for this, but the community and government can tackle it by providing better security measures and organising neighbourhood activities.