People often do not interact with their neighbours and this is harming communities. What are the possible causes and solutions?

It is true that lack of communication between the nearest will damage the strengthening of the community. While various factors such as social media and working life have contributed to the above, addressing this problem would involve the local authority to create events and gathering to boost interactions between its residents. There are several causes of this situations. The main one is that the influence of social media has resulted in a lifestyle where people spent more time in an online community rather than a physical interaction. For instance, a fair number of people, when asked, prefer to attend to an online community gathering compared to their local neighbourhood gathering. In addition, working life has also taken a huge amount of time from people. They will reach home very late and will have no time and energy to speak to anybody, let alone their neighbours. Both social media and working life are loosening the bonds between residence. Various possible courses of action can be taken in order to resolve the above. In the first place, the local authorities could hold events and gathering that suites their residents. For example, during the festive season, they could hold a sport event where only the neighbours can participate. These kind of activity may eventually interest some people, and hopefully, by words-of-mouth, it could spread to others and end up to a larger crowd. To conclude, various factors may have led to individualism among the resident, but this situation can be alleviated by introducing events and gathering in the neighbourhoods. Given this situation, it is recommended that steps should be taken immediately in order to ensure that communication between neighbours improves.