Nowadays, when people have to travel abroad for work, many take their family members with them on the business trip. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the individual and his or her family members who travel together?

Many people today decide to take their families overseas with them when they go on business trips. This development is advantageous to the whole family as they can spend time together and do not have to be separated. However, the consequences are the costs involved and wasting the time of the other family members. On the one hand, individuals and families are always delighted to travel together. Travelling abroad is an enriching and entertaining experience which is beneficial to families, specifically for children, as they get to see other countries with their parents and make beautiful memories. Furthermore, since business trips happen often nowadays, individuals and families do not have to miss each other and instead spend more time together. For instance, if all individuals decided to go on trips alone and their work involved a lot of travelling, then this would have a detrimental effect on families and they would become estranged. Despite the aforementioned advantages, there are some drawbacks. Firstly, travelling overseas can be costly, especially for large families. This can negatively affect the family’s budget and is considered overspending. For instance, the money spent on travelling could have been spent on something more important. In the worst cases, this can lead to debt and poverty. Secondly, excessive travelling is exhausting to spouses and children. Spouses would have to take days off work which would severely affect their careers and success. Regarding children, a lot of vacations would mean taking days off school which is disadvantageous to their education as they cannot study, and therefore, might fail their examinations. To conclude, although the habit of going on business trips with families seems like an attractive and fun idea, it has numerous drawbacks to both individuals and their families.