People nowadays prefer to interact online (e. g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It has been observed for the last few years that people love to do shopping on the internet and use social media to talk to their friends. They do not like to interact face-to-face with their friends and colleagues. There are many reasons behind this decline in human interactions, which will be discussed in detail with relevant examples. To begin with, there are various reasons for the increase in online interactions. First, people feel comfortable while interacting online with other people, who live far away from them. They do not have to travel long distances. The second reason behind online shopping and interaction is that rather than going shopping in-person, they prefer to do shopping online and save their crucial time instead. Last but not least, it helps them to save their money by shopping online with discount prices. Nevertheless, travelling cost can also be saved in many ways. Therefore, people prefer to buy things online and talk to others using internet applications such as Skype, Whatsapp, and Facebook. In my opinion, it has clearly detrimental effects on people. Chatting on social media leads to depression and other mental illnesses. Nonetheless, they have to face many other difficulties while facing people in-person. People, who mostly talk online, feel less confident during their face-to-face meetings with others. On the other hand, cultural values have been declined due to this advancement in online social activities. Similarly, people not respect the community and society rather they spend time online chatting with other people, who they never met before. People buy everything online and not going to markets, this leads to a decline in the local economy. Also, they could not get a chance to see the product physically. Thus, this development has many negative impacts on people. To conclude, people like to do shopping online and talk to their friends on mobile applications due to their personal choices, but it could be dangerous for our societies and communities. We should meet people face-to-face rather than chatting online.