People living in the twenty first century generally have a better quality of life than people who lived in previous centuries. with this statement?

We often hear the expression ‘there’s no better time to be alive than now’, usually referring to the improved standard of living of modern-day humans, whose lives have been greatly enhanced by the not-so-distant in the past technological progress. Advanced medical care, a wider range of high-profile and lucrative jobs, international trade and travel and cutting edge entertainment facilities are just a few aspects of today’s life that have contributed to the widespread belief and feeling that life now is far better than it was for our ancestors. I share this belief to a certain extent as far as comfort and choice are concerned, but have some doubts as to whether this is the case with interpersonal relationships and mental health. To begin with, it is certainly true that the discovery of many new medications has improved the quality of life of many people with chronic diseases, has made it possible to venture out to faraway destinations without the worry of being killed by a deadly virus and has generally extended the average life span of humans. With the help of technology and the latest scientific breakthroughs, some ill people and older citizens are now able to spend longer time with their families, being independent and not a burden for their relatives. Furthermore, improvements in the comfort of our own homes, transportation systems and the simple activities of our daily lives has reduced the amount of effort, manual work and stress that were inevitable in the past. Take as an example the simple daily laundry washing which is no longer done in the river by hand but requires no more than the push of a button. On the other hand, there are some aspects of modern life that have become way more challenging than they were for earlier generations. It seems that human relationships have become harder to build and maintain with social media and technology often being blamed for this. Many people report lack of self-confidence, are afraid of criticism and what image they project into the world. With the human being a social animal, it is essential that we stay in groups, build communities and receive support from our peers. However, alienation which stems from the prevalence of technology has proven counterproductive in this direction and has affected people’s lives negatively, overall worsening their quality of life. In conclusion, there are aspects of twenty-first-century existence that are better and worse. It is wonderful that people can enjoy a longer, healthier and more comfortable life, however, happiness is only real when shared. In my view, a lacking sense of community in today’s cities can seriously undermine one’s personal satisfaction with the conditions under which they are living.