People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

Currently, urban dwellers need to deal with numerous issues. From my perspective, these problems are mostly manifested in housing and traffic aspects, governments should use counter-urbanization as a measure to ease the mentioned problems. Living in large cities, people are faced with housing and traffic problems daily. To start with, the incessant flow of migrants to metropolises has made the demand far exceed the supply, leading to a negative increase in property prices and a severe lack of accommodation. It has also caused the formation of slums for homeless people, bringing insecurity and diseases. Another existing issue prevalent among large cities is the failure to accommodate an ever-increasing volume of traffic. This is compounded by the fact that a majority of people prefer privately owning vehicles because they are more comfortable and flexible for doing multiple tasks than public transit. It results in endless daily gridlock, a scene usually witnessed on Los Angeles streets at 5 PM. To tackle both these issues, governments should promote the migration from urban areas to rural ones to not only reduce the problems in big cities but also provides the citizens with higher job opportunities. The lower population density, the lower similarly commuting demand and accommodation burden. Additionally, it is undeniable that many small towns are underdeveloped due to labour scarcity. Therefore, more people move to these towns could balance the employment rate and contribute to the development of the regional economy. For example, Australia has succeeded in a redistribution program to reduce congestion and pollution problems. This program gave chances for companies to set up in country towns and created many employment possibilities for its citizens. In conclusion, people living in large cities could confront troubles with traffic, accommodation and some associated issues. Thus, governments should support the movement of people to smaller towns or rural areas.