People living in large cities have to face many problems in everyday life. What are those problems? Should the government encourage people to move to regional towns?

Nowadays living in a big city has become a significant issue; indeed, there are numerous problems to face for city dwellers, two of which are very relevant for people’s physical and mental health: the air and noise pollution and the increased risk of stress. For this reason, I believe government should promote the transfer to suburbia and small towns. It has been argued that large cities have more services as well as work and leisure possibilities than small cities and this is the main reason why they are prone to overpopulation, which causes an increase in noise pollution. In addition, population growth creates car traffic, which expand air pollution. This increase of air and noise pollution is dangerous to people’s health. For example, a medical paper showed that the incidence of cancer is higher for people living in large cities. Moreover, it is clear that hectic places such as metropolis generate a more stressful life than that in regional towns, sometimes leading to psychological diseases such as pathological anxiety or depression. For instance, it has been demonstrated that the rate of people suffering from anxiety is higher for those living in a big city. Consequently, the government should encourage people to move to regional towns to avoid overpopulation and problems derived from it. To conclude, this essay explained problems related to a city life, such as air and noise pollution and stress generated by a hectic place. Modern lives are leading to different serious issues, hence it is a duty to preserve a quality life when it is possible.