People have little understanding of the importance of the natural world. What are the reasons and how can people learn more about the natural world?

In this era, it is indisputable that humans have a deficiency in knowledge about the natural environment. Personally, I believe that there are two primary causes leading to this issue, namely poor education and ignorance about nature. Consequently, several measures should be implemented to tackle this problem. First of all, people’s insufficient insight into nature can be attributed to the education system. That recent curriculum puts an excessive emphasis on academic knowledge is undeniable. Students are bombarded with scientific subjects such as mathematics, physics and so on, which are believed to provide them with a better employment prospect. Therefore, they rarely have chances to absorb practical knowledge about their surroundings and wildlife. To address this problem, it is advisable that environmental studies are a compulsory subject at school. Additionally, academic programs should involve field trips to raise students’ consciousness of nature, resulting in their proper actions in the future. Secondly, the inadequacy of attention to the environment is a key factor responsible for this phenomenon. Most people are primarily concerned about issues that bear direct relevance to their life, such as economic prosperity or health care. Furthermore, people now are living under man-made regions of cities and towns, hence problems related to environmental degradation are of little account to them. As a result, citizens are highly recommended to get high exposure to the media about the importance of nature. Environment-associated articles and videos should be frequently and widely produced to provide people with basic knowledge of environmental issues. Moreover, posters with appealing pictures and slogans should be made omnipresent in public areas such as shopping malls or bus stations. In conclusion, not only academic programs, but also the ignorance of humans are underlying reasons for the shortage of insight into nature. My view is that some feasible solutions should be taken to help people learn more about the world around them.