people have less time to prepare food, which has given a boost to availability of convenience foods at stores.

In this modern age, people have less time to prepare food, which has given a boost to availability of convenience foods at stores. Such tendency certainly saves time but not without some drawbacks. This essay will discuss how these disadvantages outweigh the advantage of store-bought food. To begin with, these easy cook meals have more shelf life than regular home cooked food which is achieved only by adding unhealthy additives to food items. Although, these chemicals are not added in large amounts or approved by the government, daily consumption of such meals can increase the risk of getting diseases. For instance, in my country, India, Maggie one of the favourite ready to cook foods was famous popular as it took only 2 minutes to cook. But later it was found that the country’s favourite snack contained lead, which is hazardous to health. In addition to the above drawback we can also see the changes in food consumption trend. When people find an easy way to cook they buy more and more convenience food instead of making any effort in cooking at home. For example, frozen pizza has become the most treasured food items in the USA, as these can be stored for months together. Because of this unhealthy habit people are becoming obese and victims of heart diseases. In contradiction to the disadvantages, convenience food can be very helpful when there is no time to cook or proper kitchen. So, anyone can rely upon them to save some time and effort if they are not relied upon daily. In conclusion, convenience food causes more problems than benefits. In my opinion, these disadvantages outweigh the advantages because other than saving time there is nothing good or healthy about these products.