People can prepare various types of foods easily and in less time nowadays. What contributed to this improvement and has this development changed the way we live?

The art of food preparation is perhaps the oldest among all forms of arts and it is still evolving. It has changed a lot since the establishment of human civilisation. And perhaps the biggest change has occurred in modern time. Opinion is divided about the impact of this change on our life, while some say it has made our life easier, others feel that society has lost traditional foods and skills. I feel that modern way of preparing food has positive impacts on human life. Firstly, in today's time, time is considered a precious commodity. Taking clues from this concept, the cooking method has also changed. Nowadays supermarkets have larger sections of processed and precooked food than the fresh produce. This is because our generation finds that processed foods are time savers. One does not need cut, mix and cook from scratch. People think the saved time can be used in more productive and useful way such as spending more time with family on the dining table while enjoying food than on preparing the food itself. Therefore, with the availability of modern ingredients cooking has become easier and quicker. On the other hand, recipes are becoming simpler day by day, as no one wants to spend much time in the kitchen. Because of this traditional recipes and methods are getting forgotten. For example, nowadays, rarely anybody prepares 'Pua', a traditional Indian sweet, because of its complex a time-consuming cooking process. Some people also believe that because of readymade ingredients, the originality of taste is lost. Argument is that one would not find the cake prepared from instant-mix as tasty as those prepared by grandmothers at home. In nutshell, we can fairly conclude that modern way of food preparation is becoming popular day by day because of its simplicity and time saving nature, which in turn has positive impact on our life.