People can eat a variety of food that can be grown in other areas As a result people eat more food produced in other regions than local food Do you think the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

Thanks to globalization, people from across the globe can now enjoy cuisines from other regions, which are food that cannot be produced natively. This trend has led to higher consumption of food from foreign sources than those produced locally. I will analyse both the merits and demerits of this phenomenon. On the one hand, it is irrefutable that utilization of foreign food products has its advantages. Firstly, these food may provide people with a highly nutritious diet. For instance, a breed of berries offering abundant amount of vitamins can only by grown in Asian tropical climate. Secondly, there is a vast array of exotic cuisine that can only be found in one specific region. However, thanks to globalization, people from different nations can enjoy each other’s food and as well promote their own unique cuisine. On the other hand, higher consumption of foreign food also has its demerits. For example, the more demand for food from other areas, the higher its prices. Consequently, local manufacturers of these food can sometimes not afford to buy and enjoy their own products. Another disadvantage of this trend is that importing and exporting food mean constant transportation, which lead to more pollution caused by emissions from vehicles. Lastly, as products need to be transported over long distances, there would be increased use of chemicals and preservatives to keep them intact. These harmful substances may be unhealthy to consume. In conclusion, food from foreign sources being more rapidly consumed than those from local producers has its advantages regarding health promotion and enjoyment of exotic cuisines. Some of its disadvantages are in terms of higher prices for local use, pollution due to transportation, and potential health problems caused by consumption of relating chemicals. Ultimately, I believe the demerits of this trend definitely outweigh its merits.