5 There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Nowadays, the availability of digital technology with affordable price have offered us a more convenient yet efficient lifestyle. Telecommuting and tele-education, which are remarkable advances, are gaining soaring popularity amongst schoolers and office staffs. I believe this is a positive trend and I shall provide evidence to support my opinion. Firstly, an apparent merit of working or studying from afar is associated with the economic aspect. By staying at home, individuals can save money spent on travelling back and forth between workplace and home. This vast amount of money can instead be invested on personal interests or textbooks, which are sometimes expensive for students. Secondly, tele-schooling or telecommuting may open socioeconomic doors for talented individuals who live in remote areas and unable to come and work in big, developed cities. Because urban areas offer greater employment opportunities and better educational system, people from underdeveloped regions cannot have equal chances to enjoy these facilities as others. With the utilization of computer technology, people can now study and work in conducive conditions which is equal to urban citizens even though they are far away. However, working or learning from home can have their demerits in terms of work efficiency. Because people stay at home where there is an absence of supervisors, they tend to neglect their assignments at hand and do other personal tasks during work hours. This results in reductions of work efficiency and productivity. Nevertheless, this problem can be solved by setting progress goals for workers and pupils, as well as implement strict punishment if their tasks are incomplete by the deadline. These acts would provide incentives for people working from afar and guarantee effective performance. In conclusion, I believe telecommuting and tele-schooling bring us a positive development. These options are economically efficient and they offer better employment and educational opportunities for people from remote areas. Despite having a demerit regarding the potential low working performance, this problem can be solved by setting progress goals.