People attend graduate courses for different reasons. Why do you think people attend graduate courses. Provide reasons and appropriate examples to support your reasons

Education is considered as a basic need in today’s world. With increasing thirst for knowledge there has been an everlasting increase in the number of students who pursue undergraduate and graduate courses. The latter seeing an increasing trend in recent times. There are many people who still believe there is no need to waste the money spent on higher education. But I would like to contradict from their view and provide the following reasons why a college graduation is important and what students generally expect when they graduate from college. First and the most basic reason why people generally attend graduate college is to expand their knowledge and gain the required skill set. For example, consider a student who pursued his under graduation in Computer Science. S/he would have obtained a basic knowledge about Computer Science. But in order to go deeper into the subject and expand his skill-set a graduate course is what he chooses. Sure many may raise an objection to this. In today’s world, when most of the information is readily available on the Internet, a graduate course is not the only way to go about this. However, many choose this path because of various reasons like preference to class based teaching, a responsibility they carry forward into the course etc. The second important reason why generally people attend a graduate course is to find better jobs. After all, no knowledge is worth if it doesn’t help them to leave peacefully. For example, consider a student who hasn’t obtained a job of his dreams after his under graduation. He continuous to study further in hope of getting a better job. According to many of the job posting websites like monster. com, indeed etc; this fact is supported. As it is evident from these statistics that the rate of graduates hiring is better than rate of non-graduate hiring. People might also argue that a person who doesn’t have basic skills won’t be able to get a job even if he pursues a graduation course. Although it is true, but we are looking at extra time and dedicated effort of an individual to gain the required skills and that creates a better chance to succeed. In conclusion, people generally choose to pursue graduation in order to expand their knowledge, skill set, find better jobs etc; There are various other reasons why an individual might choose to do it. But in my point of view, these are the most important reasons for a student to graduate.