People attend colleges or universities for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge etc. ). Why do you think people attend colleges or universities?

As today’s work environment has already become highly specialized, graduating from university is a prerequisite to even be able to compete in the job market. Still, the outlook for better career opportunities is certainly not the only reason why people strive for higher education. Judging from my personal experience, there are several reasons to go to university, such as the desire to contribute to humanity’s knowledge base as well as they wish to tackle unanswered questions about oneself. First of all, numerous conversations with fellow students uncovered the deeply felt desire to add to a specific field of research and by doing so, advance humanity’s development. This motivation might be directed to a set goal, such as working on a new kind of propulsion engine that might enable interplanetary space travel – or it might be more of a general kind, such as understanding the appropriate application of ethical principles in the light of artificial intelligence. Secondly, the drive to find out more about oneself can lead people to join the academic realm, so they become enabled to shed light on what remains in the dark of their being. For me, this was a contributing factor why I initially applied for a university program at the psychology department as I wanted to unravel the mysteries surrounding my consciousness. Considering my personal experience and the insights that I gained from my peers, among a variety of reasons, the wish to be part of cutting-edge research and the curiosity about one’s existence can motivate people to seek a university education.