People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is estimated that there are more than five thousand spoken languages in the world. Owing to the advancements in the fields of IT, it is now possible for people to translate with the aid of applications online. The main advantage of such a crucial innovation is that it allows the world to be more global and accessible, irrespective of ethnicity or cultural background. However, such apps are often prone to errors, and thus many have called into question its efficacy. Simply put, their biggest benefit is that these translation apps help embrace globalisation and diversity. It allows the user to remain in touch with their culture and native language, whilst simultaneously making it easier to converse and communicate with anyone globally. For instance, in many multi-national corporations, it is now possible for an employee in say India, speaking Hindi to collaborate and liaise with their team in Germany or USA. In terms of tourism, it helps bridge any gap in communication, leaving no room for confusion for a foreigner. Thus, such apps have helped catalyse the flourishing of tourist industries. Whereas earlier travelling abroad to a foreign country seemed sheer problematic due to language barriers, today millions do it with ease. It has also allowed for easier education abroad for international students. Historically, there is also a pre-conceived notion of English being the ‘universal’ language. However, since the advent of such apps, it is possible now to disregard such absurd notions that are entrenched so deeply in our society. However, these apps must be dealt with great caution. The user must be wary as they are known to be inaccurate. Language is more complex than any application can ever fathom; a simple addition or omission of a word can entirely change the meaning. Many who are sceptical of such apps thus still tend to resort to the more archaic and rather rudimentary ways of translation, such as translation dictionaries, which seem more reliable. In conclusion, I believe such translation apps help pave a way to a more global future. Its tremendous advantages far eclipse any potential drawbacks.