People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, online language translators have become ubiquitous. I strongly believe that the benefits of this far surpass the drawbacks. Admittedly, there are some disadvantages to translation applications. Firstly, the more people use them, the less they will use traditional dictionaries, if at all. This means that without internet connection, many people will find themselves helpless to get the translation. For example, a recent study by Harvard University, found that 80% of high school students have never used dictionaries in their lives. Secondly, with many translation applications available, app quality is not guaranteed. Since these applications are very profitable business, many will be available in stores without even being certified. Therefore, online language translation applications could be seen inadmissible. Nevertheless, despite above mentioned disadvantages, I believe there are plentiful advantages to such applications. To begin with, these apps are very convenient. They could be used anywhere, which helps get the meaning on the spot. For example, a tourist could rely solely on translation applications when visiting a new country. In addition, pronunciation feature is a unique benefit of such applications. This is because it fosters better communication, and ease learning new words. Without such a feature, these apps’ usage will be limited to reading text and not speaking with foreigners. As a result, their usage is essential to learning a new language. In conclusion, I reaffirm my position that the merits of online language translation applications prevail over the demerits. Although, less dictionary usage and app quality could be problematic, convenience and pronunciation feature are far more beneficial