People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do you think the advantages are more than the disadvantages of such services

The internet is becoming more useful. Hence more individuals use different internet based language translation applications to converse. There are various benefits and drawbacks to this. Nonetheless, I believe this is a positive trend. The first advantage to be considered is that, it is very convenient. To put simply, it makes people's life less stressful, as individuals would not need to overwork themselves trying to learn a new language to communicate with foreigners. Since they can do this easily now with one click of their phone. Not only this but, the use of internet translators also ensures that more money is saved. This is because rather than employing a human translator or pay for language classes, an individual could download a free online language translation app on his device and be able to converse in any language in the world. Consequently, more money is saved which could be used for rainy days. For example, Danielle, my cousin, had a smooth transition, when she migrated to Poland for study without having to incur unnecessary costs trying to learn Polish because she made use of these apps. If these things were not available, then she would have spent more. Evidently, it can be seen that convenience and cost effectiveness makes this more beneficial. Despite the aforementioned benefits, usage of these services still has some drawbacks including loss of culture. To elaborate, language is the mouthpiece of a culture and with the convenience associated with using these kind of language translators, people would be less likely to take up new languages. Hence, cultural diversity would be lost over time. For instance, I had the opportunity of learning my mother tongue, when travelling to my hometown for holidays, but I found it too stressful and instead used a translation app during my stay there. Additionally, an increment in unemployment rate is another disadvantage. Since, there is less need for the services of a human translator, therefore, these people are thrown back into the job market though they are a minute amount. As a result, poverty rate increases and the economy suffer. In all, it is apparent that internet based translation services has some drawbacks though I feel they are not so significant. To conclude, though there are some disadvantages to online language translation services like loss of culture and jobs. I strongly believe its' benefits such as convenience and cost effectiveness significantly outweighs this.