More and more people are using a lot of online language translation apps. Are there more advantages or more disadvantages of such services?

With the advancement of technology, language translation apps are becoming popular. An increasing number of people are using such apps and I believe, benefits of those apps are much greater compared to drawbacks. Firstly, if we consider the advantages, most of the people are depending on their mobile devices to get their daily tasks done. Earlier, to translate something either we had to refer a paper-based dictionary and do it manually or had to get the professional service from a certified translator. However, currently, these apps are providing an extremely easy and reliable solution for people to do their translation work by themselves. Moreover, these services are equipped with more than one language and which gives people an option to use these apps to learn languages as well. In fact, these days’ people are looking for quick solutions for everything and therefore, quick translation of any language has given a lot of benefits for people in different areas such as tourism, business and communication. Secondly, turning in to the drawbacks, we should take into account that the accuracy of the result of these apps is still doubtful. The reason for this is most of the content are developing by people without any formal qualification in languages or linguistic science. As an example, there can be different meaning for the same word in different languages. The result should elaborate on these differences to give the exact meaning but rather most of the apps are just giving a general meaning. If someone needed to do some professional or academic task using such an app, the accuracy of the output would not be guaranteed. In contrast, this kind of issues can only be resolved by based on user inputs and updating the contents accordingly. In other words, unless people regularly use such apps and report problems which they encountered, apps cannot be upgraded. Therefore, people should use these apps to make them better in the future. In conclusion, although there are some content-related issues are still there in such apps, the benefits people getting are outweighing the drawbacks.