Formal examination has become the most common way to assessing a student's performance. Do you think it's a positive or negative development, in your view?

Around the world, many students are getting education in schools or colleges and they have to go through a formal examination. Now the burning question arises "Is the formal examination leading in a positive or negative direction? ". In this essay we will discuss why the formal pattern of examination is a negative development. Since last so many decades we are following traditional method to assess the academic learning of students. The reason we are using this type of exam is easy to conduct and easy to evaluate a large number of studying kids. But judging all the students on the same basis is totally unfair as some children are good in writing exam, on the other hand, some are drastically better in a team task or presentation. Even though the formal pattern of exams is quite popular, but it does not bring any innovation in the students, which can be brought by another pattern of assessments like a case study, team task and presentation. As the formal exam is a way to evaluate any student's learning, many times it becomes so stressful. Students need to memorise such a long academic course and need to perform in a single 3-4 hours exam. Let's have an example of India, where formal examination is the most common way to judge the performance of any child or adult. Only scored marks become a symbol of their success and many hardworking students get depressed when they don't get a desired score. According to a latest survey number of student suicides are increasing due to this pressure. So this formal type of exam is leading to negative development. Every coin has its two sides, same thing come with the traditional exam pattern. In spite of its easiness, this exam is leading student in stress and unfair environment. So in my opinion formal examination is not the best way to assess ability of any student.