People are surrounded by all kinds of advertising. They both have important and negative influences to our lives. Agree or Disagree?

In today’s material world, we are inundated with various forms of advertising. Many people hold the belief that this can have both positive and negative impacts on people’s lives. From my perspective, I completely agree with this view for several reasons. The first argument given to support my opinion is that the purpose of advertisement is to bridge the gap between manufactures and consumers. In other words, this help disseminate information about products’ features and benefits. As a result, this would assist a person in making a purchase, saving both time and potentially, money from overspending. Informative health advertisements, for example, which include safety assessment and research, can show the positive and negative side effects of the functional foods to the patients and accordingly help them to choose the products that suit their own needs and prevent possible risks. Another rationale behind my belief is the fact that being bombarded with advertisements manipulates the general public’s choice and spending habit. It is common that businesses try to use promotional tools to exaggerate the benefits of their services. Much worse is the fact that unwary consumers who are swayed by misleading advertisements could end up being deceived by the advertisers into impulsively buying low-quality merchandise that later disappoint them. For example, with the endorsement from the celebrities, cosmetic brands can lead customers to believe in the effectiveness of the items. When consumers receive their orders, they are disappointed because their appearance do not experience the same improvement as advertised. In conclusion, although advertisement can introduce many benefits to its audience, I still think that the oversaturation of advertisement can bring negative impacts on individuals and society as a whole.