Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons.

It is often said that boarding schools offer a myriad of benefits to students especially in a technology-focused world where distractions are imminent from home. However the issue is not entirely settled, as there are arguments that can be raised against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support that boarding schools are the best preference cite the various benefits it offers to the student. These ranges from improved academic performances to proper time management and moral discipline. For example, siesta and prep times ensure that students from warmer countries get the needed rest during the day to facilitate the smooth learning process in the evening. Rather than wasting their time doing activities that will drain their energy levels, they are forced by strict regulations to observe siesta sessions that relax the brain and release stress. This shapes their behaviour and attitude towards examinations and lectures leading to high academic performances. Thus boarding schools are an excellent choice for parents looking to see their wards excel in their education. On the other hand, opponents of this view point out that, not every parent can afford to enrol their child in a boarding school because of the extravagant fees being charged. For instance, many boarding schools demand exorbitant fees before the enrolment of school children citing that the fees being charged includes dining and hostel services among others. For these families who barely make ends meet, choosing a day-school which fits within their budget is the preferred choice. In addition, not every pupil in a boarding school can boast of being academically brilliant. A recent study on students' performance by Harvard University has proven that, academics has no correlation with the type of school one attends, and that students' perform to their uptimum best when they study under the right conditions and in a serene environment. Overall it seems advisable to say that, the decision to enrol ones' child in a boarding school should be based on the financial strength of the family and the willingness of the child, and not entirely on a general view that "boardibg schools are an excellent option for children". It is logical to conclude that, boarding schools are no better than day-schools, and for students to perform exceptionally to required standards, they ought to be taught under better environments that are conducive for learning.