People are becoming too dependent on the Internet and phone. Is it a positive or negative development?

With the advances made in technology, public can depend more and more on their smart phones and internet to conduct activities, which were once seemed impossible to be done at the click of a button. In this essay, I will discuss the demerits and merits and explain why it has a negative impact on the society, on a whole. Even though with the arrival of smart mobiles and other networking technologies have immensely benefited the mankind in providing certain services instantly, it comes at a tremendous price. Because of the elevated depend on their mobile screens for various functions, people get glued to their devices much more than ever. For example, it is widely known that people to people interaction has drastically gone down in the recent years, in most parts of the world. Not only does this mobile network increases the exposure to radiation, but also results in various lifestyle diseases. One clear example is the occurrence of cancer cells in the human body, as a result of increased radiation levels the body is subjected to. Additionally, since the arrival of the internet, people increasingly rely on them to perform various transactions from the comfort of their home, which in its absence would have required them to be present physically somewhere. Thus, with the decreased physical motion, it can lead to a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, it is an accepted fact that people worldwide prefer to do their banking transactions online, rather than visiting the bank in person, which takes a lot more time and effort. Furthermore, commoners get easily distracted by various notifications on their mobiles that can decrease their productivity and efficiency levels at work. To exemplify, many international companies prohibit their employees to take phones into the office, because of the same reason. To conclude, even though with the advent of modern technological devices people have benefited tremendously, the negatives far outweigh the positives. And as it helps the public function better, it is going to stay for a while in this fast-paced life.