People are becoming dependent on the Internet and phone. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated whether increasing dependence on modern technologies presents a problem or advantage of the modern society. Although I agree that positives of living in the world of advanced technology might predominate, it is important to consider the negative effects it can have on our lives. This essay will discuss both sides using examples from the UK government and Oxford University to demonstrate points and prove arguments. There is ample evidence that the loss of money is a major drawback of placing too much reliance on online network and phones. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly criminals are increasingly using internet to steal people’s property. Secondly, in order to use ever improving mobile applications people are driven to spend a considerable amount of money on the latest brand devices, such as iPhone and Samsung smartphones. For instance, recent empirical research by the UK Government demonstrated that an average Brit may invest up to 20% of his/her yearly income in phone accessories and web services. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that the largest disadvantage of relying on advanced technologies is a waste of money. Although there is a case of disadvantages attached to the usage of internet and phones damaging people’s budget, the beneficial impact of the latest technology on the way we communicate, cannot be overstated. This is largely because we can keep in touch with our friends and family by email or instant messenger services like Viber and Facebook messenger. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that video messaging is becoming common for business meetings in over 80% companies world wide. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that the mobile and networking technology has revolutionized the communication benefiting connection between friends and family. To conclude from the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that if the internet network and cell phones are used wisely there would be more positive than negative effects. It is predicted that online communication services will increasingly grow in importance in decades to come.