Paying all workers the same salary in a company promotes harmony and respect amongst colleagues

There is a notion that same pay scale for all employees in an organization promotes harmony and respect. This essay will discuss why I completely disagree with this perception. To embark on, the cardinal merit of having equal salary at all levels is that it eradicates inequality of income. Although the discrimination based on income level will be eliminated, it also promotes togetherness among the workers. In contrast, higher income to a team member at same designation creates professional ego which is not good for work environment. As a result of paying all workers same salary, the motivation to perform can be standardized. From my perspective, I strongly disagree with this perception because it de-motivates high performing professionals and high cadre professionals demand more pay. With regards to the former, when a good quality performance is not rewarded financially, it creates a sense of resentment in the employee towards work. As for higher designation, there are few designations such as chief manager and executive directors, which demand more presence both physically and mentally as the risk of decision-making with respect to business performance is substantially greater. For instance, executive director of a division handles more responsibility compared to any other professional in the organization, so it is justified to pay such personnel more salary. By virtue of this, it has to be remembered that skilled talent comes at a superior cost. In conclusion, while same pay mitigates inequality of income, in my point of view, it demoralizes high performing work-horses and there will not be any substantive value for top-level management.