Parents and teachers make many rules for children to encourage good behaviour and protect them from danger. However, children would benefit from fewer rules and greater freedom.

To teach children good behaviours, respect for elders and dealing with society effectively teachers and parents impose so many rules. Since childhood we have grown up with many don'ts and do's which directly and indirectly taught us many lessons of life and made our life easy, comfortable and successful. As a rule, parents define timetables of all the activities to be done in a day which is called good habits like getting up early morning, staying clean, having food in time, respecting elders, loving youngers, not to trouble anyone and so on. If a child follows these rules would greatly benefit in future life like having a healthy life, being amiable and punctual, caring others etc. The rule means a protection shield from possible harms. Out of their experience of their life, our elders ask us to follow the rules and stop us if we are going towards the wrong path. Moreover, these rules and punctuality would protect us from so many bad habits and keep us alert to choose right friends, become a good citizen and being able to take responsibilities. In another way, if the children who are always under control and pressure of their parent's strict rules they face another challenge of life. For example, those children will be less confident, poor in decision-making skills and would not be able to lead others. They take the time to mingle with society and hesitate to interact with anyone. They look for their elders always to show them the path and lead them. As a result, they would not be able to face the real world and other people can take advantages of that because they do not have the sensibility to distinguish between right and wrong sometimes. Hence I agree there should be certain rules to make children learn good things but we should not crush their emotions and feelings. It's parents and teachers’ responsibility to teach them why they have to follow the rules and how few things are not good for them. Sometimes they are needed to be given a chance to learn and face the society all by their own so that they should be free and alert to accept challenges, deal those issues and come up with a solution. This attitude and freedom will lead children to become better and stronger persons.