Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems

These days, the increasing rate of obesity among kids is a pressing concern in many countries. This essay will discuss the potential reasons for this trend and also highlight some possible consequences of it. It is widely accepted that the growth in the number of obese children results from an imbalance between energy intake and consumption. In today's world children tend to take a huge amount of unhealthy food having a high proportion of calories, fat, and sugar in their daily diet. Recent research shows that a kid consumes on average more than one hundred liters of carbonated drink per year. On the other hand, instead of taking part in physical activities, most children spend an amount of time on sedentary habits including watching television and playing video games which results in burning fewer calories and gaining weight. In addition, it is obvious that there are some negative effects of obesity on children’s health. First of all, obesity contributes to the risk of some chronic diseases. In detail, many studies indicate that children’s obesity constitutes to the early development of several conditions such as type 2 of diabetes, hypertension and many more. Another worth noting effect is that children’s obesity leads to serious psychological consequences such as autism and depression. For instance, obese children may be discriminated at school by their peers that can have detrimental influences on their mental health. In conclusion, children’s obesity is mainly caused by their calorie-rich diet and an inactive lifestyle. Also, it brings various issues of physical and mental health in the early stage of their lives. To solve this problem, it is recommended that more outdoor activities should be introduced to the curriculum of schools to raise the awareness of students in preventing themselves from the obesity.