Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

In recent decades, the world population has surged dramatically due to some reasons which lead to numerous widespread issues. This essay will discuss some negative outcomes of this phenomenon and then introduce some potential solutions to prevent or reduce these effects. First of all, it should be said that overpopulation is one of the main contributors to many environmental problems such as pollution, deforestation, and global warming. Studies delineate that human activities including industrial factories and carbon fuel transportation which lead to carbon dioxide emission increase can speed up climate change. In addition, intensive farming, as one another subsequence of overpopulated areas can damage the local ecosystem in a serious way. As a result, the most significant challenge the current overpopulated world is facing is environment-related issues. Moreover, greater demands on resources can result in less access to supplies and facilities such as freshwater, healthy food, medical care, education, proper housing and consequently leading to poor economic conditions known as poverty. On the other hand, there are some potential solutions to the control population rates and its negative effects. The first and most obvious way is better sex education to help people learn more about birth control methods, as well as providing them suitable contraceptives. Furthermore, governments can implement some changes in their policies related to childbirth. Above all, every citizen, as a contributor to this worrying situation, should play an effective role in global improvement. Reducing individual carbon footprint on a wide scale through using sustainable transportation modes, consuming more organic foods, and fewer animal products, and efficient energy usage with the help of smart applications, are just some of few principles that every person can follow in order to reduce its negative impacts on the environment. In conclusion, the first major outcome of overpopulation is related to the environment in the long-term, and poverty is the second drawback in the short-term. Although it seems too late to tackle these problems, both governments and individuals can take some steps to control the following disruptive results of overpopulation.